top of page

Blog

Recipe: Raw, Vegan Coconut Curry Soup

Hey loves!



I know I haven't posted in the blog in a while, so Happy New Year, Kwanzaa & all the celebrations! As I am sure many of you can relate, I started a 21-day raw, vegan reset on January 4, 2021 to celebrate the launch of my raw foods movement, Raw Friday's, & my 4-year vegan anniversary! However, January is always a time that I engage in some type of fast, detox or reset to begin my year. The most important thing is to keep it up throughout the year! All the goals, the resets, the second (or THOUSANDTH) chances, need not be in vain. It's a daily practice.


One of the main things that keep us off of being our best is the physical foods that we are consuming daily. Yesterday, I posted this raw, vegan soup that I made for dinner last night & the internet went crazy! (Well, a few people asks for the recipes, so...lol) I decided to post the recipe here so that anyone in my community can access it & share it. You're welcome!


It is so simple & easy to make, with only a few ingredients! If you know me, I'm the type of chef that rarely measures, unless it is going in my cookbook, so please forgive me if the measurements are a bit off. I'm going mostly from memory & approximate measurements. With raw, vegan you can heat food up to 118 degrees, so this soup will be slightly warm, perfect for the winter months, or can be prepared at room temperature as well, without heat.


ENJOY!!











* This recipe makes two servings.




Ingredients:


For oyster mushrooms:

- 2 cups of whole oyster mushrooms (If you are cooking it completely raw, you may want to chop up into smaller pieces for better results.)

- Chili powder

- 1 Tsp of sea salt

- Cracked black pepper

- Paprika


For broth & other veggies:

- 1 can of coconut cream

- Approximately 2.5 cups of spring water

- 2 cups of fresh spinach

- 1/4 cup of diced yellow bell peppers

- 1 diced jalapeno

- 1 minced garlic clove

- 2 Tbsp of ground cumin

- 1 Tbsp of Turmeric (or the perfect amount to get the desired color)

- 1 Tbsp of Garlic parsley salt

- 1 Tsp of chili powder

- 1 Tsp of cracked black pepper

- optional: 1.5 cups of diced zucchini



  1. Toss the oyster mushrooms in chili powder, sea salt, cracked black pepper & paprika.

  2. Add the oyster mushrooms to your air fryer for 118 degrees for about 15 minutes. (If you do not have an air fryer, heat at VERY LOW heat - 118 degrees or below - in a skillet on the stove with a small amount of oil.)

  3. While oyster mushrooms are heating, in small/medium-sized pot add all of the remaining ingredients, turn the stove to low, cover & let it heat for about 10 minutes.

  4. Add the oyster mushrooms to the broth, cover & let it sit for about 5 minutes.

  5. Turn the heat off & serve!


The soup shouldn't be too hot to eat. It should be warm & just right for serving. I hope you enjoy it as much as my son & I did!







Carmelle H.

INHC/Doctor of Holistic Wellness & Healing

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page